Networking Tips from the Godfather II

A month ago, I wrote a piece about networking tips one could take from the movie, The Godfather.  In the piece, I focused on the scene where Marlon Brando’s character, the Godfather, assists the undertaker, who is in need, and states that he may ask for the undertaker for a favor in the future.  “Someday, and that day may never come, I’ll call upon you to do a service for me.”

Many readers wrote to me to share other examples of movie scenes that contain networking and job search advice.  One of my favorites came from one of my co-workers who pointed out a shining example in the movie, Godfather II.

In the second installment of the Godfather series, the viewer is taken back to the time when Don Corleone is new to America and working at a grocery store.  The grocery store is owned by the father of a friend of Corleone, Genco Abbandando.  However, when the evil Don Fanucci forces the grocer to hire nephew as an employee, Vito is let go.  Abbandando tries to give Vito a crate of food, but Vito politely turns him down, mentions how good the grocer has been to him, and points to his temple in a demonstration that he will not forget the kindness Abbandando has extended him.

godfather-iiLater on in the movie, when Vito is asking for a favor from a local merchant, he states, “Do me this favor. I won’t forget it.”  This is a great lesson in networking. When a contact is kind enough to offer you assistance, be sure to remember and try to find ways to help out the contact or, at a minimum, stay in contact and let the individual know the outcome of your search efforts.  You want to be known by the second half of the quote I shared above, “Do me this favor. I won’t forget it. Ask your friends in the neighborhood about me. They’ll tell you I know how to return a favor.

Be the networker who knows how to return a favor.

About Kevin Monahan

I have 10+ years experience in coaching clients in their career management and career change efforts. Personal career consulting services combined with employer outreach to help find opportunities for both constituents.
This entry was posted in Job Search, Networking, Thank You and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

