Serenity Prayer – Part II

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

Reinhold Niebuhr, 1943

Yesterday, I wrote about receiving this passage as part of an email signature line and how I thought it provided wise advice for those in the midst of a job search to accept the things they cannot change.  As I continued to consider the passage, it struck me to as sage career advice to have

“…The courage to change the things I can…”

I am not perfect.  You are not perfect.  We all can improve – we only need the courage to change.  Have you fallen out of date with some technological advances in your industry? Have you allowed networking relationships to stagnate rather than nurturing them over time?  Are you underemployed at your current position? Do you procrastinate? Are there other pieces to your career that you need to address?  These are all items that one can change if he or she has the courage to do so.

Personally, I struggle when interviewing.  A bit ironic, a career coach who has poor interviewing skills!  I realize it and am addressing this weakness.  In the past month, I have met with two senior mentors and asked them for practice interviews – to be frank, hearing their criticism was difficult.  I am improving on my interviewing skills because I was open to listening to the feedback and implementing the suggestions given.  This process of change will be rewarding when I excel in future interviews.

I am not perfect and neither are you.  We only can ask for the courage and strength to recognize our deficiencies and make the necessary changes to continue to move forward.  What is one item you need to address and CAN change with action?  Now go and do.

About Kevin Monahan

I have 10+ years experience in coaching clients in their career management and career change efforts. Personal career consulting services combined with employer outreach to help find opportunities for both constituents.
This entry was posted in Career Management, Interview, Job Search and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

