Writer’s Block

Writer’s Block – I have experienced this over the past couple of weeks with regard to my blog.  I was on a good roll in June, went on vacation with the family, and came back to Writer’s Block.  The ideas for posts were not coming to me and I was in a funk.  Frustration was setting in and I began to avoid thinking about my blog. I would open my WordPress blog account, feel pressure to write something, and give up after a minute justifying my action by consoling myself with “I’ll do this later” or “No good ideas today, wait until tomorrow.”  Finally, I thought – how does this feeling relate to a career search?

The feeling of frustration is a common one in the job search, we have all felt frustrated at some point in the search – not hearing from employers, being told “Thanks, but no thanks”,   etc. – but what I am focusing on is a more severe state than frustration.  Burnout, when one begins to avoid a situation and thus compounds the issues during one’s career search.  As I mentioned above, we all experience this feeling at some point in the search, but the key is what steps you take to limit the time you experience the ‘funk’.

So, how did I get out of my funk?

  • Mix it Up: Get variety in your day.  Sometimes routines can make one feel even more constricted.  Just be sure you are not mixing too much into your day so as to avoid the task at hand – the job search.
  • Back to Basics: Look back to what has worked in the past.  I went and looked over some of the more popular blog posts I had penned to gain inspiration.  Consider looking over jobs applications and networking contacts where you felt were strong.  Reconnect with those networking contacts as a way to bring back more energy.
  • Clear Your Mind: Stressing about a situation only compounds the pressure one will feel.  Exercise is the healthiest way to get one’s mind off stress.  Take a day off and force yourself not to think about the search.  Just as Yoda encouraged young Skywalker to do, “Clear your mind must be...”

Eventually, the funk will clear.  The key is not to get out of the funk as soon as you possibly can.

About Kevin Monahan

I have 10+ years experience in coaching clients in their career management and career change efforts. Personal career consulting services combined with employer outreach to help find opportunities for both constituents.
This entry was posted in Career Management, Communications, Job Search and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

