Thank You: Content

So you have decided you will send a thank you note/email – so what does one say?

1) Thank You: It is important to express your appreciation for the hiring manager taking the time to meet with you.  “Thank you for meeting with me today, I realize your schedule is busy and I appreciated our conversation about my interest in the analyst position”

2) Reminder: When possible, it is a good idea to say something unique about your conversation to help remind the hiring manager about your meeting.  Make it positive and related to the position.  “As I mentioned during our meeting, my experience with XYZ, Inc. provided me with an excellent understanding of the financial services industry.”

3) Skills: Remind the interviewer of some of your best attributes/skills for the position.  Think of this as a sales or marketing pitch to the hiring manager.  “You indicated the ideal candidate for this position needed to be skilled in Excel and financial modeling.  I am a Microsoft certified Master level Excel user and have used Excel extensively in my past two positions.  My work at Equity Bank developed my financial modeling skills during my tenure.”

4) Interest: Let the hiring manager know you want the job – when a hiring manager is under a hiring time constraint, knowing both parties are interested in one another could help speed things along.  Even if there is no time urgency, it is important for the decision makers to know you want the job.  ” I would like to reiterate my strong interest in this position, I know I can make a positive contribution to your team and the entire organization.”

What are other items you would recommend in a thank-you?

About Kevin Monahan

I have 10+ years experience in coaching clients in their career management and career change efforts. Personal career consulting services combined with employer outreach to help find opportunities for both constituents.
This entry was posted in Communications, Interview, Thank You and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

